More Children's Book Awards

On Page 1 of the Children's Book Awards we looked at the longest running awards which had been established prior to 1980.

Listed below are more children's book awards which have been set up after 1980.

Although these are newer awards, they are no less valuable in helping to find some great books to read to your children. Children are involved in judging the winners for several of these awards, which helps to provide a different perspective.

Again, the focus is on picture book awards suitable for the younger audience.

Parents' Choice Gold Book Award

The Parents' Choice Awards is America's oldest nonprofit program created to recognize quality children's media. Among other categories, awards have been presented annually for Picture Books since 1983, as judged by a panel of educators, scientists, performing artists, librarians, parents and children.

Gold awards are presented to the books judged as the highest quality, most appealing products in their genre.

There are too many winners to be listed here, but you can follow the link above to find the details of these picture book awards.

Notable Children's Book Award

Each year since 1996 the American Library Association has identified the best of the best in children's books. Books are categorised as for young readers, middle readers and older readers. Tens of books are identified in each category which are too many to list here, but follow these links to find the current winners and past winners of the award.

British National Book Awards

The National Book Awards showcase the best of British writing and publishing. The winner of the Children's Book of the Year category is a book from a UK author with wide appeal which has made a significant impact within the trade and among the public.

2013 Demon Dentist by David Walliams

2012 Ratburger by David Walliams

2011 A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

2010 Zog by Julia Donaldson and Axel Scheffler

2009 Breaking Dawn by Stephenie Meyer

2008 Horrid Henry and the Abominable Snowman by Francesca Simon

2007 Flanimals of the Deep by Ricky Gervais

2006 Ark Angel by Anthony Horowitz

2005 The Gruffalo's Child by Julia Donaldson & Axel Scheffler

2004 The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time by Mark Haddon

2003 Girls in Tears by Jacqueline Wilson

2002 Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer

2001 The Amber Spyglass by Philip Pullman

2000 The Illustrated Mum by Jacqueline Wilson

1999 Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J K Rowling

1998 Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone by J K Rowling

1997 Northern Lights by Philip Pullman

1996 The Hutchinson treasury of Children's Literature ed by Alison Sage

1995 The Most Amazing Pop-Up Science Book by Jay Young

1994 Mummy Laid an Egg by Babette Cole

1993 Penguin Small by Mick Inkpen

1992 Farmer Duck by Helen Oxenbury

1991 The Mousehole Cat by Nicola Bayley

Blue Peter Book Awards

The popular British children's BBC television programme, Blue Peter, has been recognising and celebrating the best authors, the most creative illustrators and the greatest reads for children since 2000.

Past winners of the Blue Peter Book of the Year are:

2013 Tom Gates - Genius Ideas (Mostly) by Liz Pichon

2012 The Considine Curse by Gareth P Jones

2011 Dead Man's Cove by Lauren St John

2010 Frozen in Time by Ali Sparkes

2009 Shadow Forest by Matt Haig

2008 Prize didn't run

2007 The Outlaw Varjak Paw by S. F. Said, illustrated by Dave McKean

2006 Lost and Found by Oliver Jeffers

2005 Private Peaceful by Michael Morpurgo

2004 Man on the Moon by Simon Bartram

2003 Mortal Engines Philip Reeve

2002 Feather Boy by Nicky Singer

2001 The Wind Singer by William Nicholson

2000 A Pilgrim's Progress retold by Geraldine McCaughrean, illustrated by Jason Cockcroft

Theodor Seuss Geisel Award

This award, first presented in 2006, is given annually to the authors and illustrators of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers published in English in the United States during the preceding year. The award is named after Theodor Geisel, better known as Dr Seuss.

The Medal Winners of the award are listed below. Several runners up, or Honour Books worthy of mention, are also awarded each year. Read more about this year's or previous year's Honour Books.

2014 The Watermelon Seed by Greg Pizzoli

2013 Up, Tall and High! by Ethan Long

2012 Tales for Very Picky Eaters by Josh Schneider

2011 Bink and Gollie by Kate DiCamillo and Alison McGee, illustrated by Tony Fucile

2010 Benny and Penny in the Big No-No! by Geoffrey Hayes

2009 Are You Ready to Play Outside? by Mo Willems

2008 There Is a Bird on Your Head by Mo Willems

2007 Zelda and Ivy: The Runaways by Laura McGee Kvasnosky

2006 Henry and Mudge and the Great Grandpas written by Cynthia Rylant and illustrated by Suçie Stevenson

Roald Dahl Funny Prize

This newly established prize has been awarded since 2008 to authors and illustrators who write and illustrate books using humour in their stories, poetry and fiction.

The funniest book for children aged six and under

2013 Monkey Nut by Simon Rickerty

2012 My Big Shouting Day by Rebecca Patterson

2011 Cats Ahoy! by Peter Bently, illustrated by Jim Field

2010 Dog Loves Books by Louise Yates

2009 Mr Pusskins Best in Show by Sam Lloyd

2008 The Witch's Children Go to School by Ursula Jones, illustrated by Russell Ayto

The funniest book for children aged seven to fourteen

2013 I Am Still Not a Loser by Jim Smith

2012 Dark Lord: The Teenage Years by Jamie Thomson, illustrated by Freya Hartas

2011 The Brilliant World of Tom Gates by Liz Pichon

2010 Withering Tights by Louise Rennison

2009 Grubtown Tales: Stinking Rich and Just Plain Stinky by Philip Ardagh, illus. Jim Paillot

2008 Mr Gum and the Dancing Bear by Andy Stanton, illustrated by David Tazzyman

Back to Page 1 for longer running children's book awards established before 1980.

You may also like:

childrens books reviews
Children's Books' Reviews
Read Aloud Books
Read Aloud Books
Caldecott Award Winners
Caldecott Award Winners
Non-Fiction Picture Books
Non-Fiction Picture Books

You are here: › More Children's Book Awards

Can't find what you're looking for? Try searching for it here.

Can't find what you're looking for? Try searching for it here.


Have your say about what you just read! Leave a comment in the box below.