Coretta Scott King Award Winners

This annual award is presented by the American Library Association for the most distinguished portrayal by both an author and an illustrator of African American experience in literature for children.

Here is the full list of Coretta Scott King Award winners from 1970 until the present day. An Illustrator Award and an Author Award are presented.

Several Honour Books are also awarded each year to the runners up.

Illustrator Award

2013 I, Too, Am America by Bryan Collier

2012 Underground by Shane W. Evans

2011 Dave the Potter: Artist, Poet, Slave by Laban Carrick Hill

2010 My People by Charles R. Smith Jr.

2009 The Blacker the Berry by Floyd Cooper

2008 Let it Shine: Three Favorite Spirituals by Ashley Bryan

2007 Moses: When Harriet Tubman Led Her People to Freedom by Kadir Nelson

2006 Rosa by Bryan Collier

2005 Ellington Was Not a Street by Kadir Nelson

2004 Beautiful Blackbird by Ashley Bryan

2003 Talkin' About Bessie: The Story of Aviator Elizabeth Coleman by E. B. Lewis

2002 Goin' Someplace Special by Jerry Pinkney

2001 Uptown by Bryan Collier

2000 In the Time of the Drums by Brian Pinkney

1999 i see the rhythm by Michele Wood

1998 In Daddy's Arms I am Tall: African Americans Celebrating Fathers by Javaka Steptoe

1997 Minty: A Story of Young Harriet Tubman by Jerry Pinkney

1996 The Middle Passage by Tom Feelings

1995 The Creation by James Ransome

1994 Soul Looks Back in Wonder by Tom Feelings

1993 The Origin of Life on Earth: An African Creation Myth by Kathleen Atkins Wilson

1992 Tar Beach by Faith Ringgold

1991 Aida by Leo and Diane Dillon

1990 Nathaniel Talking by Jan Spivey Gilchrist

1989 Mirandy and Brother Wind by Jerry Pinkney

1988 Mufaro's Beautiful Daughters: An African Tale by John Steptoe

1987 Half a Moon and One Whole Star by Jerry Pinkney

1986 The Patchwork Quilt by Jerry Pinkney

1985 None

1984 My Mama Needs Me by Pat Cummings

1983 Black Child by Peter Magubane

1982 Mother Crocodile: An Uncle Amadou Tale from Sengal by John Steptoe

1981 Beat the Story Drum, Pum-Pum by Ashley Bryan

1980 Cornrows by Carole Byard

1979 Something on My Mind by Tom Feelings

1978 Africa Dream by Carole Bayard

1977 None

1976 None

1975 None

1974 Ray Charles by George Ford

Author Award

2013 Hand in Hand: Ten Black Men Who Changed America by Andrea Davis Pinkney

2012 Heart and Soul: The Story of America and African Americans by Kadir Nelson

2011 One Crazy Summer by Rita Williams-Garcia

2010 Bad News for Outlaws: The Remarkable Life of Bass Reeves, Deputy U.S. Marshal by Vaunda Micheaux Nelson

2009 We Are the Ship: The Story of Negro League Baseball by Kadir Nelson

2008 Elijah of Buxton by Christopher Paul Curtis

2007 Copper Sun by Sharon Draper

2006 Day of Tears: A Novel in Dialogue by Julius Lester

2005 Remember: The Journey to School Integration by Toni Morrison

2004 The First Part Last by Angela Johnson

2003 Bronx Masquerade by Nikki Grimes

2002 The Land by Mildred Taylor

2001 Miracle's Boys by Jacqueline Woodson

2000 Bud, Not Buddy by Christopher Paul Curtis

1999 Heaven by Angela Johnson

1998 Forged By Fire by Sharon Draper

1997 Slam by Walter Dean Myers

1996 Her Stories: African American folktales, fairy tales, and true tales by Virginia Hamilton

1995 Christmas in the Big House, Christmas in the Quarters by Patricia C. and Fred L. McKissack

1994 Toning the Sweep by Angela Johnson

1993 Dark Thirty: Southern Tales of the Supernatural by Patricia C. McKissack

1992 Now is Your Time: the African American Struggle for Freedom by Walter Dean Myers

1991 The Road to Memphis by Mildred Taylor

1990 A Long Hard Journey: the Story of the Pullman Porter by Patricia C. and Fred L. McKissack

1989 Fallen Angels by Walter Dean Myers

1988 The Friendship by Mildred Taylor

1987 Justin and the Best Biscuits in the World by Mildred Pitts Walter

1986 The People Could Fly: American Black Folktales by Virginia Hamilton

1985 Motown and Didi: a love story by Walter Dean Myers

1984 Everett Anderson’s Good-bye by Lucille Clifton

1983 Sweet Whispers, Brother Rush by Virginia Hamilton

1982 Let the Circle Be Unbroken by Mildred Taylor

1981 This Life by Sidney Poitier

1980 The Young Landlords by Walter Dean Myers

1979 Escape to Freedom by Ossie Davis

1978 Africa Dream by Eloise Greenfield

1977 The Story of Stevie Wonder by James Haskins

1976 Duey's Tale by Pearl Bailey

1975 The Legend of Africania by Dorothy Robinson

1974 Ray Charles by Sharon Bell Mathis

1973 I Never Had It Made: the Autobiography of Jackie Robinson, as told to Alfred Duckett by Alfred Duckett

1972 17 Black Artists by Eton C. Fax

1971 Black Troubador: Langston Hughes by Charlemae Rollins

1970 Martin Luther King, Jr.: Man of Peace by Lillie Patterson

You may also like:

Non-Fiction Picture Books
Non-Fiction Picture Books
Caldecott Award Winners
Caldecott Award Winners
Picture Books for Older Readers
Picture Books for Older Readers
childrens books reviews
Children's Books' Reviews

You are here: › Coretta Scott King Award Winners

Can't find what you're looking for? Try searching for it here.

Can't find what you're looking for? Try searching for it here.


Have your say about what you just read! Leave a comment in the box below.