Costa Book Award Winners

The Costa (previously Whitbread) Book Award is one of the most prestigious and popular literary prizes in the UK. The winner is chosen by a panel of three judges - usually an author, a bookseller and a journalist. There are five categories of awards, one of which is for a Children's Book which must be written by a writer based in the UK or Ireland.

Below is the list of award winners in the Children's Book category from 1972 until the present day.

Winners for all categories of the award can be found here.

2013 Goth Girl and the Ghost of a Mouse by Chris Riddell

2012 Maggot Moon by Sally Gardner

2011 Blood Red Road by Moira Young

2010 Out of Shadows by Jason Wallace

2009 The Ask and the Answer by Patrick Ness

2008 Just Henry by Michelle Magorian

2007 The Bower Bird by Ann Kelley

2006 Set in Stone by Linda Newbery

2005 The New Policeman by Kate Thompson

2004 Not the End of the World by Geraldine McCaughrean

2003 The Fire-Eaters by David Almond

2002 Saffy’s Angel by Hilary McKay

2001 The Amber Spyglass by Philip Pullman

2000 Coram Boy by Jamila Gavin

1999 Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J K Rowling

1998 Skellig by David Almond

1997 Aquila by Andrew Norriss

1996 The Tulip Touch by Anne Fine

1995 The Wreck of the Zanzibar by Michael Morpurgo

1994 Gold Dust by Geraldine McCaughrean

1993 Flour Babies by Anne Fine

1992 The Great Elephant Chase by Gillian Cross

1991 Harvey Angell by Diana Hendry

1990 AK by Peter Dickinson

1989 Why Weeps the Brogan? by Hugh Scott

1988 Awaiting Developments by Judy Allen

1987 A Little Lower than the Angels by Geraldine McCaughrean

1986 The Coal House by Andrew Taylor

1985 The Nature of the Beast by Janni Howker

1984 The Queen of the Pharisees' Children by Barbara Willard

1983 The Witches by Roald Dahl

1982 The Song of Pentecost by W J Corbett

1981 The Hollow Land by Jane Gardam

1980 John Diamond by Leon Garfield

1979 Tulku by Peter Dickinson

1978 The Battle of Bubble & Squeak by Philippa Pearce

1977 No End to Yesterday by Shelagh Macdonald

1976 A Stitch in Time by Penelope Lively

1975 none

1974 (jt) How Tom Beat Captain Najork & His Hired Sportsmen by Russell Hoban & Quentin Blake

1974 (jt) The Emperor's Winding Sheet by Jill Paton Walsh

1973 The Butterfly Ball & The Grasshopper's Feast by Alan Aldridge & William Plomer

1972 The Diddakoi by Rumer Godden

You may also like:

Children's Book Lists
Children's Book Lists
Non-Fiction Picture Books
Non-Fiction Picture Books
Caldecott Award Winners
Caldecott Award Winners
Picture Books for Older Readers
Picture Books for Older Readers

You are here: › Costa Book Award Winners

Can't find what you're looking for? Try searching for it here.

Can't find what you're looking for? Try searching for it here.


Have your say about what you just read! Leave a comment in the box below.